DIY Dog Bed

We’ve been dealing with a rebellious pup around here lately and it hasn’t been much fun. For the past few weeks, Bentleigh’s been sleeping on the couch while we aren’t home and trying to jump on the bed in the middle of the night. Not cool. I figure she’s two years old now, which is 14 in people years, and when I think about how I acted at 14 years old, it kind of makes sense. Sorry, mom.

But then it occurred to me that part of our problem might be Bentleigh’s bed downstairs that she lounges on while we’re hanging out in the den or when we’re not home. We’ve had it for about a year and a half and it was looking more than a little shabby. Poor baby was probably better off sleeping on the hardwood floor.

So, I decided to put Pinterest to work and sew Bentleigh a new bed. Surprisingly, I only found one tutorial that had the look I was going for. Luckily, it was a good tutorial and very easy. So I went out to Hobby Lobby and got 2 yards of the fabric I wanted for my main pieces and one yard of a coordinating fabric to go on the sides.

I did make a slight change to the tutorial I used. Since I was using this for pet bed, and not just a floor pillow, I wanted to make the bottom piece with an envelope opening so I could take out the pillows inside and wash the cover when I needed to.

So, here’s how I did it.

Materials:

  • 2 yards main fabric, 1 yard coordinating fabric
  • Two pillows (or pillow forms, extra blankets, stuffing, etc.) Whatever you want to use to fill your bed.
  • Sewing machine, measuring tape, scissors, all that jazz

Step 1: Decide how big you want your bed and choose your measurements. I drew this beautiful, professional sketch to help me visualize. LOLZ Jk, it’s totally an amateur sketch. Hence the water stains. IMG_2457I decided that two pillows lying vertically side by side was the perfect size for Bentleigh. That left me with 32″ x 24″. I added two inches to each for seam allowances. The pillows were about three inches thick, so I went with 5″ with allowance.

Step 2: Measure and cut your fabric. Ugh, this part is always so hard for me. I’m just terrible at cutting. If you want to make the envelope fold, try not to forget you are doing this. Like I might have done. I cut my two main pieces the exact same size and then cursed loudly when I realized I needed to cut separate pieces for my envelope on the bottom. Luckily, I had some extra fabric. So for the envelope fold, essentially you will be cutting two pieces of fabric that, when they overlap, will still equal 34″. I think mine overlapped by about 5″.

You should end up with – TWO: 5″ by 26″ rectangles TWO: 5″ by 34″ rectangles TWO: 34″ x 26″ rectangles (one of them being the envelope piece, if wanted)

Step 3: Take your two fabrics for your envelope and sew them together where they overlap. I don’t know the exact seam allowance I used, but I tried to get as close to the edge as possible so that this seam would end up inside the seam I would create when sewing the edge piece to the top later on. You probably could skip this step and just sew it all together at once, but I felt more comfortable having it secure at the beginning.

Step 4: Place your first 34″ x 26″ piece and lay it face up on your table. Take one of your 34″ x 5″ rectangles and place it on top of the 34″ side of your main piece so they are lined up together. Your pieces will be right sides facing. Pin and sew. I used a 1/2″-ish (don’t you love how precise I am?) seam allowance. I think a picture of this part might be helpful, so refer to the original tutorial to see.

{Make sure to be very particular and cautious about how your sides are facing before you sew. I may or may not have sewed my first pieces together right side facing wrong side. I have no clue what I was thinking but I spent about 30 minutes after that becoming best friends with my seam ripper. Amateur hour up in here}

Step 5: Repeat step four with your remaining rectangle pieces.

Step 6: Press your pieces out. This is where you should be now:

IMG_2433

Step 7: Place your second 34″ x 26″ piece (the one with the envelope opening) right side up on your table. Line up one of your 34″ rectangles (that is already sewed to your other main piece) with an edge, pin and sew. Just like you did before.

Step 8: Do the same with your other 34″ rectangle so that you make a big circle. Now repeat with your shorter rectangle pieces.

Step 9: Pin and sew your corners. This may be a little tricky. It was for me because my edges didn’t line up perfectly but the most important thing is that there are no holes so just be sure you sew it all shut snuggly.

Step 10: Stuff in your pillows! I added a little bit of pillow stuffing in mine around the edges because my case ended up being a little too big.

Sidnote on the extra pillow stuffing: If your dog is one to eat/chew you want to avoid this because this stuffing is not good for dogs (especially puppies) or their digestive tracts. Luckily, Bentleigh has never been a chewer so I was perfectly comfortable using it. And just to be safe, I put it on the ends where it would be impossible for her to get to.

Y’all this was such an easy project and if you are a beginner sewer, do not be intimidated. Seriously, if I could do it, so can you. The best part was that Bentleigh absolutely loved it. She was on top of that thing ASAP. She snuggled on it all night without hopping up on the bed and has been staying off the couch ever since. Problem solved? For now at least!

IMG_2452 IMG_2454 IMG_2438

Leave a Reply

