Wall decor

So the desk has been primed, painted and sealed. It’s the perfect size, the perfect shape and I think will provide the perfect amount of function. I’m still in shock that this actually worked out. But, right now it doesn’t look quite as awe-inspiring because there’s nothing on it. So I’m gonna wait to post pictures.

Image

 

The desk took me about 4 days to prime, paint and seal because I waited extra long in between each coat. I know it will be seeing lots and lots of traffic so we’re trying to avoid as many knicks, scratches and dings as possible. In the meantime, I spent some time updating a few things that will go up on the wall. 

Fun fact: I’m a super visual learner.  

I wanted some kind of whiteboard/chalkboard for the office to use during all the late-night study sessions I forsee in the near future. 

Another fun fact: I also have major texture issues with random things. Including, chalk. And chalkboards. Me no likey the feeling on my fingers. Or the smell. Or the sound. If you keep reading my little ol’ blog you just might find out the other things that I have textural issues with. INCENTIVE!

This is unfortunate because chalkboards are obviously sooo in right now and also really cute. Luckily, Matt found a stray whiteboard somewhere at work that wasn’t being used so he stole asked politely if we could have it and then hand delivered that bad boy straight to moi. 

Unfortunate is also a description for the looks of this free whiteboard. So not putting this on my wall.  I flipped it over and pried the existing frame off. It was super easy. Then I took some Windex to it to clean ‘er off. 

Image

Now I needed a new frame for the board and I thought about heading to Lowe’s to get some thin boards to DIY frame it but that sounded like a lot of work and also I had a lightbulb! I was in Michael’s about a year ago in the canvas section and saw the most amazing thing ever. What I thought were pieces of frame that attach at the corners like a puzzle. They come in all different lengths so you can pick and chose which sizes you need for whatever you are framing. Easiest. DIY. Frame. Ever. Well, when I went to find the product on the Michael’s website I discovered that these are actually canvas stretchers for artists to create their own size frame for the inside of their canvases. 

Whatever they technically are, I did some mental guesstimating and picked up to 36″ pieces ($3.00 per piece) and two 24″ ($2.00 per piece) pieces. These, amazingly, were the exact dimensions of my whiteboard. Seriously, I never guess stuff like that correctly. I got home, sprinted upstairs and put those babies together. Then spray-painted the new frame gold the very next day. Actually, that’s a lie. I did this first.

Image

 Image

 

See how they fit right together in the corner? So easy my dog can do it. This is the same dog that I had to yell at multiple times to stop licking the scissors while I was cutting out newspaper to tape into these mirrors:

Image

 

No, those are not Charleston Regional Business Journals with my husbands byline all over the front page that I cut up into little pieces and spray painted all over. It’s called recycling, honey! 

I used another highly sophisticated method to spray paint all of these items at the same time. Probably, definitely, maybe recommended by all the professionals. 

Image

 

In case you wanted to copy these methods, that is a fitted bed sheet held to the ground by two rusty citronella candles, a watering can and a pile of rocks. Yep.

I used Krylon’s metallic Gold and really, really liked how easily it took to the mirrors. They pretty much took one coat. I used about three coats on the wood frame. 

Happy weekend! xoxo, p

Leave a Reply

